Painting the armour

The weekend has been slow for hobby related activities. I had my sibling staying with me and a girlfriend to entertain so I got very little painting or modelling done.

I felt pretty bad about it so I decided to post up a simple guide on how I have done my armour on the dark elves.

So I start with black primer which gives a brilliant starting surface for paint on resin, plastic and metal miniatures.

I then do a watered down layer of Liche Purple. This is the template colour of the armour and so doing a watered down wash first acts as the deepest shading of the model as the purple only partly covers over black.

I then apply a purple layer with just enough water to make the paint thin and usable for coating. This is where the colour starts to actually show on the model and also acts as the main tone of the armour.

After this is done I mix Liche Purple with some Bleached Bone. The mix is about 60 – 40% respectively and acts as the main highlight. I apply this to the raised areas and the prominent features of the armour such as the helmets and pauldrons (shoulder guards)

Once this is dry I mix Liche Purple directly with Skull White. This mix is a bit more even this time, and is used as an extreme highlight layer. I use this to pick out the ornate helmet details and the very edges of the armour plates.

Now the paint is on the scheme looks a bit extreme, so then I apply several coats of Leviathan Purple wash. The first coat of this is very watered down and is just painted vigorously over all of the armour so it has very good coverage.

After this has fully dried I do a second wash and depending on how it is looking depends on how much water I add to the final wash.

 

Now the armour is fully painted up! It will look very cool with the deep shadows and the subtle highlighting towards the armour edges giving it a decent style. I have been experimenting with using very watered down gloss varnish to just give the armour a bit of sheen at the end but beware it has to be very watered down and applied sparingly. Just a little too much and your armour will be stupidly shiny!

 

I hope this was an interesting read. I am quite busy at work this week but I am going to try to get a regiment of spearmen done with shields and finishing touches to post up near the end of the week. In the meantime I will post up some pics of other individual models I have been working on and also some more guides on how I have painted my army.

 

Cheers,

 

Evazorek

~ by Evazorek on January 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
